Am I in Alwarpet or Agra?

May 12, 2017 § 1 Comment


Yesterday I went to the post-office close by. A friend sent me a letter with a sel=addressed envelope to make sure that I replied his letter. And he had written the address in Tamil.
At the post-office the clerk said as he didn’t know to read Tamil, I must re=write it either in English or Hindi!
I was shocked.I wondered whether I lived in Alwarpet or Agra!
I asked him ‘What is your name?’
‘ Chaman Lal’.
He looked very young and it appeared this was his first posting.’

‘Are you from Tamilnadu?’
‘No, Sir, I am from Aligarh. I wrote the exams,passed and they posted me here’. He spoke broken English in a typical UP accent.
‘Don’t they expect you to have some knowledge of Tamil’
From what he said in a mixture of mutilated English and fluent Hindi I gathered that there was a paper in the language of the region to which they were posted but just it was an apology! He smiled!
I rewrote the address in English!

§ One Response to Am I in Alwarpet or Agra?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Am I in Alwarpet or Agra? at இந்திரா பார்த்தசாரதி.

meta

